Navigation:  Advantage Data Architect > Databases >

Deleting a Database

Advantage Data Architect

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Deleting a database will remove the three data dictionary files (.add, .am, .ai ) and will free all tables associated with the database. After deleting a database, the tables can be opened without a database connection. All referential integrity objects, views, stored procedures, users, groups, and constraints will be removed.

The tables can then be added to other data dictionaries.

CAUTION Be careful when deleting objects! You cannot undo a deletion.

To delete a database:

1.Open a database. See Opening a Database for details. You must login to the database as the ADSSYS user in order to delete a database.
2.Right-click the Database name in the Connection Repository and select Delete Dictionary.
3.Click Yes to delete the database.